Most drivers have only liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance. They think they’re fully covered. However, the truth is that you still need Medical Payments Coverage, or “Med Pay”, if you ever have an accident. This type of insurance will cover your medical expenses if you have to pay out-of-pocket for treatment. However, most drivers don’t realize that this type of insurance is critical for their own health.
Table of Contents
Personal injury protection
If you have a personal injury protection policy on your car, the insurer will cover all medical expenses that result from an accident. It may also cover the costs of rehabilitation for injured parties and lost wages. Personal injury protection is also known as no-fault insurance, and it is not required by law in every state. However, it is recommended that you buy it because it is a useful option to consider for any driver.
In addition to paying for medical expenses in the event of an accident, personal injury protection also covers the medical costs of passengers in your vehicle. The amount of medical expenses covered by personal injury protection varies by state, but it should cover at least $10,000 in basic costs. However, you may want to buy a higher PIP limit so you can avoid paying for hefty medical bills if you are at fault. Personal injury protection is not required in all states, but it is worth considering if you have no medical coverage.
Medical payments coverage
While the PIP coverage of your car health insurance pays for essential services, medical payments coverage will not. However, medical payments coverage does cover copays and deductibles that your health plan does not cover. The limit on your medical payments coverage is the amount your insurer will pay for a covered loss. Expenses over this limit will be your responsibility. You must determine the limits in your car health insurance policy to see if this coverage is right for you.
While medical payments coverage is not required in all states, it is strongly recommended for your car health insurance. In fact, some states, like New Hampshire and Maine, require drivers to have this coverage. If you have a low-cost health insurance policy, you may be able to get away without purchasing MedPay. However, if you live in one of those states, you may want to purchase medical payment coverage separately. However, in many states, medical payments coverage is not required.
When buying a car health insurance policy, you should ask about collision coverage. This coverage pays for damage caused by an uninsured motorist. The deductible is an amount you must pay before the insurance company pays for your claim. This deductible is usually between $500 and $1,500. You should be aware that collision insurance will not pay for a lamppost collision. A collision deductible waiver can make it possible for you to pay less than the deductible if you are involved in an accident.
The cost of collision coverage on your car health insurance depends on the type of vehicle you drive. If you drive very little, your monthly premium will be lower. But you’ll put yourself in danger if you need your car for work or other emergency. Collision insurance is not required in every state. Those who don’t drive frequently may not need collision coverage. If you’re not sure, ask your agent about your options.
Uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage
When you have car health insurance, you should look into uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM). This coverage pays for your medical expenses in case you are in an accident caused by someone without insurance. You may be required to have UM coverage by law, but if you don’t, you may not get the financial support you need. If you are involved in an accident and the other driver does not have insurance, UM coverage will step in.
The uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage kicks in after an accident occurs if the driver has less insurance than you do. While your policy covers medical bills and property damage, it may not be enough to cover medical costs that exceed your insurance. For example, if you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance, you may have to fight for years in court to get the full amount. Underinsured motorists coverage on your car health insurance policy will cover your medical bills if the driver who hit you is less than the legal limit. If you do not have it, you will need to talk to an attorney like https://www.fieldinglaw.com/personal-injury/mesquite/ to help you in an injury claim.